Press Releases

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

Sacramento, Calif., – Assembly Member Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer Sr., from Los Angeles, has been elected to serve as Chair of the California Legislative Black Caucus (CLBC).  Jones-Sawyer, who represents areas of South Los Angeles, including the University of Southern California and the communities of Huntington Park, Walnut Park and Florence-Firestone, is entering his second term in the California Assembly, after being re-elected last month.

“I am incredibly humbled and honored to serve as Chair of our state’s Legislative Black Caucus.  With our increased numbers and expansion into Northern California, I am very excited for the opportunity to collectively push an agenda of education, justice and economic empowerment that benefits our communities,” said Jones-Sawyer.

With the November 2014 elections, the CLBC increased its membership from nine to eleven legislators, an unprecedented number in the caucus’s 47 year history.  The CLBC could add a twelfth member, pending the outcome of a special election on December 9 to replace State Senator Rod Wright.

The CLBC’s mission is to provide its unwavering commitment and support to the goal of achieving full inclusion of the state’s African American residents in every aspect of California life – from education and employment to housing and health to commerce and government services.

Jones-Sawyer remarked, “While we have come a long way as a people, it cannot be overstated that African Americans and other communities of color continue to be disproportionately and disparately impacted by poverty, justice, environmental, and healthcare challenges.  As a caucus, our vision remains focused on continuously extending and expanding our role as a trailblazing force for equality, justice and opportunity for all Californians.”

The current members of the California Legislative Black Caucus include: Hon. Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer Sr. (AD 59 – Los Angeles); Hon. Autumn Burke (AD 62 – Los Angeles); Hon. Jim Cooper (AD 9 – Sacramento); Hon. Mike Gipson (AD 64 – Los Angeles); Hon. Chris Holden (AD 41 – Los Angeles); Hon. Kevin McCarty (AD 7 – Sacramento); Hon. Holly Mitchell (SD 30 – Los Angeles); Hon. Sebastian Ridley-Thomas (AD 54 – Los Angeles); Hon. Tony Thurmond – (AD 15- Alameda/Contra Costa) and Hon. Shirley Weber (AD 79 – San Diego).

Assembly Member Reginald Byron Jones-Sawyer Sr. is a Democrat representing areas of Los Angeles, including the communities of Huntington Park, Walnut Park and Florence- Firestone.

Text Size



2016-17 Budget

Funding Your College Future

Student Center

Earned Income Tax Credit

Pink Plate

Red Ribbon Week: Strategies and Resources

California's Water Crisis

Cash for College

911 For Kids

First 5 LA


Assemblymember Reggie Jones Follow me


Capitol Office:
State Capitol
P.O. Box 942849
Sacramento, CA 94249-0059
Tel: (916) 319-2059
Fax: (916) 319-2159

District Office:
Administrative Offices West
700 Exposition Park Drive
Los Angeles CA 90037
Tel: (213) 744-2111
Fax: (213) 744-2122