Releases & Statements

Submit to FacebookSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn

SACRAMENTO—Assembly Speaker Toni G. Atkins (D-San Diego) announced today the Assemblymembers who will serve on the Budget Conference Committee, which consists of three Assemblymembers and three Senators to reconcile differences over the budget between the two houses of the Legislature.

The Assemblymembers who will serve on the Committee are Shirley Weber (D-San Diego), who will serve as Co-Chair; Richard Bloom (D-Santa Monica); and Melissa Melendez (R-Lake Elsinore). Assemblymembers Jimmy Gomez (D-Northeast Los Angeles) and Jay Obernolte (R-Big Bear Lake) will serve as alternates.

The letter to the Chief Clerk of the Assembly is attached.

The Assembly Budget Committee on Wednesday, May 27, met and heard reports from the five subcommittees. The full report is available here.

Here are some highlights from the reports:

Subcommittee No. 1 – Health and Human Services (Chair: Assemblymember Tony Thurmond)

  • Establishes a State  EITC for lowest income working Californians
  • Repeals the Maximum Family Grant rule
  • Restores 7% hours reduction in IHSS
  • Restores the 10% Medi-Cal rate cut over two years
  • Restores Optional Medi-Cal benefits
  • Increases resources for families in poverty and young adults transitioning out of foster care
  • Provides rate increase for groups that provide services to people with disabilities

For more information, contact Opio Dupree, (916) 319-2015.

Subcommittee No. 2 – Education Finance (Chair: Assemblymember Kevin McCarty)

  • Major reinvestments in K-16 education
  • $159 million more to Local Control Funding Formula than proposed under the Governor’s May Revise
  • $97 million to fully fund CSU enrollment growth and graduation improvement efforts
  • $35 million in additional funding for UC, contingent upon UC enrolling an additional 8,000 California students and meeting other conditions.
  • $600 million toward restoring funding for child care and preschool

For more information, contact Bryan Singh, (916) 319-2007.

Subcommittee No. 3 – Resources and Transportation (Chair: Assemblymember Richard Bloom)

  • Drought relief funds
  • Approved Governor Brown’s cap-and-trade proposal
  • Ensuring continued oversight of the Public Utilities Commission

For more information, contact Sean MacNeil, (916) 319-2050.

Subcommittee No. 4 – State Administration (Chair: Assemblymember Adrin Nazarian)

  • $20 million to county self-help, Joe Serna and farmworker housing programs
  • $12 million annually to establish a five-year program to provide a tax credit for seismic retrofits
  • $48 million to support unemployment insurance support service

For more information, contact Brian Stedge, (818) 376-4246.

Subcommittee No. 5 – Public Safety (Chair: Assemblymember Reggie Jones-Sawyer)

  • $10 million for community groups that provide services to human-trafficking victims.
  • $10 million to support implementation and enhancement of body cameras statewide
  • $4.5 million to reduce recidivism

For more information, contact Joey Hill, (916) 319-2059.